How much harm is spanking your child causing? – Response to Claire Cox

Claire’s post shares a study on whether spanking your children effects their brain matter. It’s an issue that has been around for years, whether or not spanking is a proper punishment for children. According to the study shared, there were significant effects on the brain development of children that have been spanked. It showed that a child “…regularly spanked had less gray matter in certain areas of the prefrontal cortex that have been linked to depression, addiction and other mental health disorders.”

For myself personally, I don’t believe in spanking. My parents never spanked me nor will I spank my future children. I believe that any time of physical harm should never be an answer for an unruly child. Sure there are plenty of people who never showed negative effects from this form of punishment as a child. I just think there are different ways to go about it.

Leave a Reply

